Chicken Salad, the right way

Does anybody else out there in internet land absolutely hate dry chicken?  I don’t like casseroles, salads, main dishes, etc, with dry chicken.  Moist.  Yesterday was my set aside day to can chicken to last me for at least 6 months. So 40 lbs of chicken was trimmed, crammed into quart and pint jars then pressure canned.  Now I have these lovely jars sitting on my counter. 🙂  100_0889Unfortunately one pint didn’t seal.  First thought in my head was an ingredients list to moist chicken salad.

Canned chicken, Craisens, celery, green onions, Greek yogurt, mayo, white wine vinegar, Italian seasoning, salt and pepper.

Did you know that Mayo is fattening?  I cry about it sometimes.  So to make my chicken salad moist but not incredibly, over the top fattening I do a half and half situation with plain Greek yogurt.  Everybody happy?  The thing I like best about this recipe, is I have never really written it down and so it changes.  Today I didn’t have green onions.  I had a smaller amount of chicken but I added a full 2 stalks of celery.  I also prefer using white pepper instead of freshly ground black because my boys don’t like to see black specs in a mostly white concoction.

2 cups shredded chicken

2 stalks chopped celery

1/4 to 1/2 cups Craisens

1 chopped green onion

2 teaspoons white wine vinegar

1/3 cup Mayo

1/3 cup plain Greek yogurt

1 teaspoon Italian seasoning

salt and pepper to taste

Toss all of your ingredients to taste in a bowl.  Mix it around and put in pita, in a tortilla wrap, or put it with tomato and lettuce on toasted whole wheat bread.  This stuff is addictive.  It also makes a great fancy lunch item for when relatives decide to stop by.  Think about it, make it, eat it, love it.  I do. 🙂100_0877 100_0881 100_0884 100_0886

I also want to apologize for the pictures.  The only working camera in the house is my son’s 1.3 mp camera.  So imagine the lovely green celery slices and purplish red dried cranberries catching your eye automatically making your mouth moisten.  Okay?

About erinseclecticenergies

I am a wife, a mother to 3 boys ages 5, 3 and 1. I have many interests and look forward to sharing those with you, my reader to assist you in what I can.

Leave a comment