RSS Feed

Watch me GROW!!! Don’t you just LOVE breakfast?

I came home from a short morning run to all my boys in bed watching cartoons.  After getting no response as to what they wanted for breakfast I hit up the ol’ family cookbook.  What popped out at me, but German pancakes!  I can lay no claim to this wonderful recipe as I took it willingly from my awesome Mother-in-law shortly after I married into the family.  This wonderful feat of height and deliciousness has many names depending on your source, another big one being hootenannies.  So, lets get a look at ingredients!

Look at these guys!  They could own the world!  (Que southern accent) Now my Mama told me that “if you are gonna use something, use the real thing, cause honey, butter can be your best darned friend if you want it to be.”  (Que regular voice)  So, my Mama, or anybody has never said this, but in order for this recipe to be as splendiforous as I say it is you need to use an entire stick of REAL BUTTER!

Okay, first preheat your oven to 425 degrees.  Pull out your trusty 9X13 and plop that wonderful stick of butter inside.  Then put it in the preheating oven to melt.

As your butter turns into a melted mess, turn your attention to the other ingredients.  In a decent sized bowl mix together 1 cup flour, 1 cup milk, 1/2 tsp salt and 6 eggs.  Whisk until smooth.  It should turn into a goopy consistency from all the eggs.

Once your butter is melted and your oven is up to temperature pour the batter right down the center of the butter.

Scrape out the last of the batter and put it in the oven for 20 minutes!  Here is a sneak peek of the magic! This one still have 7 minutes to go and look at how big it is! See those corners?  Those will be the best part!

This picture shows the true height!  It starts to shrink and curl in a bit once you take it out!

Look at that beauty!  See the butter sitting calmly in the center?  I never did claim that this is a diet food.

Drizzle on that syrup!  Syrup is just my families preference.  You can use the same toppings you put on french toast, pancakes or an ice cream sundae if you really wanted to.

Recap and Recipe

German Pancakes

1 stick Butter (no skimping or substitutes)

1 cup flour

1 cup milk

1/2 tsp salt

6 eggs

Preheat oven to 425, melt the butter in 9×13 pan, combine last 4 ingredients in bowl, pour over melted butter and bake for 20 minutes.  This is a great way to start the day!

About erinseclecticenergies

I am a wife, a mother to 3 boys ages 5, 3 and 1. I have many interests and look forward to sharing those with you, my reader to assist you in what I can.

2 responses »

  1. Peanut butter with syrup on these are just to die for!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

